Movies TV & Streaming Interviews Docs Shorts Trailers News Careers Contact

British Independent Film Awards 2018

The Favourite Lives Up To Its Name With Ten Awards

3rd December 2018

When you call your next film “The Favourite”, you better make it live up to its title. Well, that exactly what the Greek director Yorgos Lanthimos is doing. His latest movie, starring the superb female trio Emma Stone, Rachel Weisz, and Olivia Colman, was the biggest winner during the BIFA (British Independent Film Awards) ceremony 2018 with ten awards in total.

The English actor Russell Tovey was the host this year and at the beginning, he mentioned that this would be a “Brexit-free zone” and that’s indeed what it was. It was a celebrating of the best British talent. Both well-established actors, actresses, producers, and screenwriter as well as upcoming talent.

Right from the start, it became clear that “The Favourite” would be the biggest winner of the evening as it already won four awards in the BIFA Crafts category of which Best Casting (by Dixie Chassay) and Best Costume Design (by Sandy Powell) were just a few. One of its leading actresses, Olivia Colman got the award for Best Actress while Rachel Weisz was awarded as Best Supporting Actress. Lanthimos himself won as Best Director. Right at the end of the ceremony, the film took home the award for Best British Independent Film.

Not Steve Coogan (“Stan & Ollie”) or Rupert Everett (“The Happy Prince”) but totally unexpected, according to himself, Joe Cole became the Best Actor for his astonishing and demanding acting in “A Prayer Before Dawn”. The prize for Best Supporting Actor went to Alessandro Nivola and his unrecognizable performance in “Disobedience”.

There were also some other special awards throughout the evening. Felicity Jones got the Variety Award for her astounding film career she had so far and we’re sure a lot of great films will be added to her performances list. The British filmmaker, director, and writer Horace Ové and his amazing oeuvre won the Special Recognition Prize. The lovely and always so humble Dame Judi Dench got the Richard Harris Award. She never met the late actor to whom the award is named and that the only thing she regrets.

Watch the list of nominees and winner below:


Best British Independent Film

American Animals



The Favourite – WINNER

You Were Never Really Here


Best Actress

Gemma Arterton (“The Escape”)

Jessie Buckley (“Beast”)

Olivia Colman (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Maxine Peake (“Funny Cow”)

Rachel Weisz (“Disobedience”)


Best Supporting Actress

Nina Arianda (“Stan & Ollie”)

Rachel McAdams (“Disobedience”)

Emma Stone (“The Favourite”)

Rachel Weisz  (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Molly Wright (“Apostasy”)


Best Actor

Joe Cole (“A Prayer Before Dawn”) – WINNER

Steve Coogan (“Stan & Ollie”)

Rupert Everett (“The Happy Prince”)

Joaquin Phoenix (“You Were Never Really Here”)

Charlie Plummer (“Lean On Pete”)


Best Supporting Actor

Steve Buscemi (“Lean On Pete”)

Barry Keoghan (“American Animals”)

Alessandro Nivola (“Disobedience”) – WINNER

Evan Peters (“American Animals”)

Dominic West (“Colette”)


Best Director

Andrew Haigh (“Lean On Pete”)

Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Bart Layton (“American Animals”)

Michael Pearce (“Beast”)

Lynne Ramsay (“You Were Never Really Here”)


Best Screenplay

Deborah Davis, Tony Mcnamara (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Bart Layton (“American Animal”)

Sebastián Lelio, Rebecca Lenkiewicz (“Disobedience”)

Michael Pearce (“Beast”)

Lynne Ramsay (“You Were Never Really Here”)


Most Promising Newcomer

Jessie Buckley (“Beast”) – WINNER

Michaela Coel (“Been So Long”)

Liv Hill (“Jellyfish”)

Marcus Rutherford (“Obey”)

Molly Wright (“Apostasy”)


The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Richard Billingham (“Ray & Liz”) – WINNER

Daniel Kokotajlo (“Apostasy”)

Matt Palmer (“Calibre”)

Michael Pearce (“Beast”)

Leanne Welham (“Pili”)


Debut Screenwriter

Karen Gillan (“The Party’s Just Beginning”)

Daniel Kokotajlo (“Apostasy”)

Bart Layton (“American Animals”) – WINNER

Matt Palmer (“Calibre”)

Michael Pearce (“Beast”)


Breakthrough Producer

Kristian Brodie (“Beast”)


Jacqui Davies (“Ray & Liz”) – WINNER

Anna Griffin (“Calibre”)

Marcie Maclellan (“Apostasy”)

Faye Ward (“Stan & Ollie”)


The Discovery Award

The Dig

Irene’s Ghost

A Moment In The Reeds

Super November



Best Documentary

Being Frank: The Chris Sievey Story

Evelyn  – WINNER


Nae Pasaran

Under The Wire


Best British Short Film

The Big Day – WINNER

Bitter Sea

The Field


To Know Him


Best International Independent Film


Cold War

The Rider




Best Casting

Dixie Chassay (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Julie Harkin (“Beast”)

Avy Kaufman (“American Animals”)

Andy Pryor (“Stan & Ollie”)

Michelle Smith (“Apostasy”)


Best Costume Design

Jacqueline Durran (“Peterloo”)

Andrea Flesch (“Colette”)

Sandy Powell (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Guy Sperenza (“Stan & Ollie”)

Alyssa Tull (“An Evening With Beverly Luff Lin”)


Best Cinematography

Ole Bratt Birkeland (“American Animals”)

Magnus Nordenhof Jønk (“Lean On Pete”)

Robbie Ryan (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Tom Townend (“You Were Never Really Here”)

David Ungaro (“A Prayer Before Dawn”)


Best Editing

Joe Bini (“You Were Never Really Here”)

Marc Boucrot (“A Prayer Before Dawn”)

Nick Fenton, Julian Hart, Chris Gill (“American Animals”) – WINNER

Yorgos Mavropsaridis (“The Favourite”)

Ben Wheatley (“Happy New Year, Colin Burstead”)


Best Effects

Howard Jones (“Early Man”)  – WNNER

Matthew Strange, Mark Wellband (“Dead In A Week (Or Your Money Back)”)

George Zwier, Paul Driver (“Peterloo”)


Best Make Up & Hair Design

Christine Blundell (“Peterloo”)

Mark Coulier, Jeremy Woodhead (“Stan & Ollie”)

Stacey Louise Holman (“A Prayer Before Dawn”)

Ivana Primorac (“Colette”)

Nadia Stacey (“The Favourite”) – WINNER


Best Music

Aaron Cupples (“Island Of The Hungry Ghosts”)

Jonny Greenwood (“You Were Never Really Here”) – WINNER

Richard Hawley (“Funny Cow”)

Anne Nikitin (“American Animals”)

Jim Williams (“Beast”)


Best Sound

Johnnie Burn (“The Favourite”)

Paul Davies (“You Were Never Really Here”) – WINNER

Séverin Favriau (“A Prayer Before Dawn”)

Cj Mirra (“Time Trial”)

Andrew Stirk (“American Animals”)


Best Production Design

Michael Carlin (“Colette”)

Fiona Crombie (“The Favourite”) – WINNER

Suzie Davies (“Peterloo”)

John Paul Kelly (“Stan & Ollie”)

Beck Rainford (“Ray & Liz”)


The Variety Award

Felicity Jones


The Special Recognition Prize

Horace Ové


The Richard Harris Award

Dame Judi Dench


Your Opinion: